Connect with us


Civil servants list 10 states yet to pay minimum wage



Nigeria flag

The Association of Senior Civil Servants of Nigeria (ASCSN) says 10 states were yet to implement the N30,000 minimum wage.

The President, Tommy Okon, spoke with the Labour Writers Association of Nigeria (LAWAN) on Thursday in Lagos.

He listed the states as Anambra, Bauchi, Benue, Imo, Kano, Kebbi, Kogi, Nasarawa, Taraba and Zamfara.

Okon said Anambra and Taraba already concluded negotiations, but have not started paying.

Bauchi, Benue, Kebbi, Kogi, Nasarawa, Kano and Zamfara are in the negotiation stage,” NAN quoted him as saying.

Noting that negotiation was yet to commence in Imo, the labour leader urged state governments to make the wellbeing of their workers a priority.

The ASCSN advised the federal government to amend the 2014 Pension Act and expunge sections inimical to pensioners.

The National Minimum Wage signed into law on April 18, 2019, after years of deliberations and industrial action.