Connect with us


Nigerian govt bans passengers from India, Brazil, Turkey




The Nigerian government has banned entry of passengers from three different countries.

Chairman, PSC on COVID-19, SGF Boss Mustapha in a statement announced that those who visited Brazil, India and Turkey will be denied entry to Nigeria.

However, this does not apply to those who transited through these countries.

Part of the statement read: “Any person who has visited Brazil, India or Turkey within 14 days preceding travel to Nigeria, shall be denied entry into Nigeria.

“This regulation does not apply to passengers who transited through these countries.”

This became necessary following the spike in COVID-19 cases in those countries.

In India, authorities reported about 392,488 new cases in the previous 24 hours bringing the total cases to 19.56 million.

Indian hospitals and morgues have been overwhelmed as the country reported more than 300,000 daily cases for about 10 days.

Many families have been left on their own to scramble for medicines and oxygen as the nations healthcare system is unable to cope with number of cases.

Nearly 10 Indian states have imposed some form of lockdown, even as the federal government remains reluctant to impose a national lockdown due to the economic effect.

Abass Sulaiman Adegoke, well known as Adegoke is a student of Federal Polytechnic Ede studying Civil Engineering, He is a media enthusiast, loves traveling, and has a special interest in personal development.