Connect with us


Osun food support scheme set to commence



I will rise above sentiment to sign off LAUTECH – Oyetola

In preparation for the smooth take-off of the Osun Food Support Scheme initiated by the Osun State Governor, Mr Adegboyega Oyetola, a ministerial meeting to fine-tune how the food distribution exercise would be carried out by stakeholders at the state, local and ward levels has been held.

The meeting DAILY POST gathered was called at the instance of the seven-member food support committee which has the state Commissioner for Regional Integration and Special Duties, Olalekan Badmus as its Chairman.

Speaking at the inaugural meeting which held at the Conference Room, Ministry of Information and Civic Orientation on Tuesday, the Chairman of the Committee, Olalekan Badmus explained that the purpose of setting it up by Governor Oyetola is to give support to the vulnerable persons in the state.

The commissioner added that the scheme is targeting 30,000 vulnerable people who will be supported with food items on a monthly basis.

He noted that the assignment was a critical one and called on all stakeholders to work together to ensure the success of the scheme.

While disclosing the names of critical groups to be carried along in the distribution of the food items at the local government and ward levels, the Chairman also listed the would-be beneficiaries to include representatives of the Christian Association Of Nigeria (CAN), the Muslim community, artisans, widows and the physically challenged.

Others listed are traditional worshipers, students and youth representatives, market women and men (Iyaloja and Babaloja) in the state, among others.

Badmus who emphasised that beneficiaries would be verified thoroughly called on the local and ward committee members to handle the exercise with the utmost care, for transparency and accountability to be achieved.

DAILY POST learnt that Tuesday, 30th March 2021 has been slated for the official flag-off ceremony of the scheme.

The meeting had in attendance stakeholders drawn from different local government areas of the state.