Connect with us


Ondo election: Akeredolu, Jegede, Ajayi win polling units



The three major candidates in today ’s governorship election in Ondo State won their individual polling units , The PUNCH can confirm.
Governor Rotimi Akeredolu , who is seeking reelection on the platform of the All Progressives Congress, won the election held in his Polling Unit 6 , Ward 5 , Isokun, Ijebu Owo. He scored 413 votes to defeat Peoples Democratic Party’ s Eyitayo Jegede , who polled 12 votes; and the candidate of the Zenith Labour Party, Agboola Ajayi , who scored zero .
Also, Jegede won his Igbogin / Isikan Ward 2, unit 9 , polling 220 votes against 60 recorded by Akeredolu while Ajayi got seven votes.
At home , Ajayi , the deputy governor of the state , also won in his polling unit in Kiribo in the Ese Odo Local Government Area of the state .
According to the result pasted at the unit by the officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission , titled ‘ Publication of Reault of Poll ’ , Agboola won the Apoi Ward II, Unit 004 , Idumado Quarters , Kiribo with a wide margin having garnered 395 votes .His closest contestant , Akeredolu , scored 13 votes while Jegede secured five votes .
Sorting of votes and counting is still ongoing at different polling units in the state as of the time of filing this report

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.